Solution Finding

This weeks lecture with Mark was all about problem solving! Or for those of you who like more positive connotations, solution finding.

We came away with three very specific questions which we were to answer within this blog post. So lets get started, shall we?

1. Define a personal bias:

This sure is a hard one! However, one bias I have that sticks out to me, as I’ve only just come across it since beginning ITC and my blog, is my bias towards thinking everyone finds writing these blog posts easy! (Well the technical side of writing them anyway). I think I have gained this bias from always having been streamed into extension classes and programmes throughout my schooling life. I am what some people would call a bit of a ‘Grammar Nazi’, who finds it hard to understand how people could not realise the differences between, their, there and they’re. But just to cover myself, in saying this, I am considering myself nowhere near perfect!  So please excuse any mistakes made in this blog! Anyway, to get back on track.. Having always been in classes with other like-minded people,  to come here and realise there are some people out there who need to actually work on and think hard about these skills came as a bit of  a wakeup call. Not everyone is a grammar Nazi like me!

2. Are you a detail orientated person, or a big picture orientated person?:

This question is a much easier one for me to answer than the last, as I know for a fact I am a detail orientated person! Take Craig vs. Sandra for example. When first told by Craig our assignment would be to write blog posts, I sat there patiently waiting for a hand-out or link to a page with a specific breakdown of the marking schedule etc. as this is the way I like to work. But as I soon realised (much to my dismay) no hand-out was to come and all we were given was the ‘bigger picture’ of having to just write a blog. This was very different to how Sandra did things (much to my contentment) as the very first thing we were given was a nice thick pile of papers containing, DETAILS! That’s right, we were given a complete breakdown of our assignments along with my old friend, the marking schedule. But don’t get me wrong, I never completely ignore the whole picture. I do realise keeping the end goal in sight is important in staying on track. I’m just one of those people who needs to know and understand each and every little nook and cranny of something before moving forward.

3. How has the above interfered with your problem solving in the past?:

Okay, please don’t accuse me of cheating, but I think I may have accidentally gone off on a tangent in the last question (number two) and answered this one at the same time. As I stated before, Craig threw me off balance. However in past years at college, I have had the same thing happen many a time. I am given a task by a teacher.. but they are very vague and give me no structure to follow. I need structure, and I need set rules or guidelines to follow. So being totally thrown into the deep end, I stress out! I have no idea where to start and I just can’t get my head around anything. This as you can see, is a problem, which needs solving. So I need to breathe, step back, and look at the bigger picture (or in many cases, ask a lot of probably very annoying questions).

One thought on “Solution Finding

Leave a Reply

